Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Winter Tips for poultry
Was just thinking after browsing, and my applogies if I have missed it.

It would be handy to compile a 'general tips for winter' sticky if possible (kind of like best practice rather than minimum requirement). And I know people think I pamper mine, so appologies up front, but I do believe we can do a great deal for relatively little effort if we take the time to think and plan ahead.

I appreciate too we have a wide range of poultry keepers here, from 2 or 3 in the back garden to breeders with 50 to a 100 plus over several acres. From beginners to veterans; but I am guessing most of the principals would be generic how ever many you have.

Obviously I am no expert, so hoping people could correct or add to this accordingly till we had a good summary of points maybe.. One assumes these pointers to be for general poultry rather any rare or special needs fowl.

1: Keep your poultry as dry as possible (plenty of shelter from wind and rain).

2: Ensure the coop is as draft free as possible.

3: Make sure the coop ventilation is both suffcient and not directly in line with the wind (ideally well above their heads and not causing a draught).

4: Add extra bedding in the coop for the winter months and try to remove poo more frequently.

5: Ensure a fresh water supply at all times (ie not frozen)

6: Make sure feed is kept dry and sheltered, likewise the girls should be able to eat and drink in a shelterd area away from the elements.

7: You may concider a hand full of corn before bed so they have some slow burn warmth through the cold nights.

8: Add some fresh vegetables once a week (if possible) and maybe the occasional protean like meal worms (to help them finish there moult)

I am sure there are many more or maybe I am off target with some of the above.